Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Eyes Slot Update

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #13

Matthew Hayward wrote: Strange ruling.

Rather than making a general rule people have to remember (you can only wear one eye patch!), and which might one day mess up a player who owns $50 total of tokens, this should just be a rule particular to the new transmute based eye patches that prevents them from stacking - such as how the Rings of Havoc were handled.

Beyond that "you can't get 8 focus from 2 eye slots" seems like a very strange boundary for TD to be drawing. You can get 5 focus and 2 ranged damage or 5 focus and Lenses of Divine sight instead - which isn't very different.


I agree with this reasoning.

I think a blanket rule that you can’t use a relic and the legendary in the same transmute path would be better for the game, feel less arbitrary, and be easier to remember.
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #14

OrionW wrote: .

I think a blanket rule that you can’t use a relic and the legendary in the same transmute path would be better for the game, feel less arbitrary, and be easier to remember.


And possibly really alienate people who have used relsa's and ring of greater focus for many, many years.

I'd suggest we do that going forward, but not retro.
First ever death in True Horde
"Well, with you guarding 2 players, that means you take 90. Are you dead?"
-Incognito

My token shop/trade thread: Wade's Wide World of Wonder 

My Current Paladin Build 
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #15

Matthew Hayward wrote: Strange ruling.

Rather than making a general rule people have to remember (you can only wear one eye patch!), and which might one day mess up a player who owns $50 total of tokens, this should just be a rule particular to the new transmute based eye patches that prevents them from stacking - such as how the Rings of Havoc were handled.


I am very curious what this hypothetical player who owns $50 worth of tokens, somehow has two eye slots, and wants to put an eyepatch in both of them looks like (or ever looks like in the future).
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #16

Allen John wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote: Strange ruling.

Rather than making a general rule people have to remember (you can only wear one eye patch!), and which might one day mess up a player who owns $50 total of tokens, this should just be a rule particular to the new transmute based eye patches that prevents them from stacking - such as how the Rings of Havoc were handled.


I am very curious what this hypothetical player who owns $50 worth of tokens, somehow has two eye slots, and wants to put an eyepatch in both of them looks like (or ever looks like in the future).


There are already common and uncommon eye patches.

tokendb.com/token/hitchhiking-ghost-bog/ exists and similar tokens may be printed in the future.

So it's not implausible that at some point in the future a player will find themselves in possession of 2 or more eyepatches, and a way to equip them, without having spent much money.

But because of this ruling, all future eye slot designs, and all character generator apps, and all coaches will have to remember a special thing about theming an item as a "patch" instead of a lense/goggles/spectacles/etc.. Instead of just saying "a player may not equip both the relic and legendary 2025 eye slot transmutes."
Last edit: by Matthew Hayward.
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #17

Wade Schwendemann (Dr. Uid) wrote:

OrionW wrote: .

I think a blanket rule that you can’t use a relic and the legendary in the same transmute path would be better for the game, feel less arbitrary, and be easier to remember.


And possibly really alienate people who have used relsa's and ring of greater focus for many, many years.

I'd suggest we do that going forward, but not retro.


Having played through the LoDS nerf and the two Eldritch set healing nerf I think it would be okay. People would grumble, but they would also easily fill the ring a lot with something new.

With that said I could see a special carve out in TokenDB for some historic items. Make the ring of focus the exception and not the rule.
Last edit: by OrionW.
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #18

My second eye-patch covers my third eye. I open it to use my psychic powers, and I cover it so I don't scare anyone.
--
macXdmg
Monk of the Painda Order
Bard of the College of Sick Beats

Trade thread truedungeon.com/forum?view=topic&catid=61&id=253064#406060
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #19

Druegar wrote: It just doesn't make sense to cover both of one's eyes.


"doesn't make sense". If we use that logic, that opens up a whole new can of worms.

Anyway, I really am NOT upset by this ruling and am fine with it. I just hope it wasn't done simply to nerf 1 pt of damage from the eye slot. I'm sorry, but concerns around power creep just make me laugh. That ship sailed a long long time ago.
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #20

My question is, why the rule now? This came up repeatedly during token design - wouldn’t the appropriate avenue for such rulings been at that time?
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #21

It did come up and the 2025 Token FAQ still says that someone with two eyes slots could put whatever they wanted in them.
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #22

macxdmg wrote: My second eye-patch covers my third eye. I open it to use my psychic powers, and I cover it so I don't scare anyone.


Awesome!!
"Many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our point of view" - Obi Wan Kenobi
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #23

For the last 24 years players haven't been able to put a ring on all 10 fingers and no one has complained about it.
"Many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our point of view" - Obi Wan Kenobi
The topic has been locked.

Eyes Slot Update 1 month 3 weeks ago #24

Rob F wrote: For the last 24 years players haven't been able to put a ring on all 10 fingers and no one has complained about it.


Limiting rings to 1 per hand (2 total) goes back to at least 1st edition AD&D. When I first starting playing TD, only being able to use 2 rings seemed normal.
The topic has been locked.
Time to create page: 0.102 seconds